Category: college football

Georgia Football: Chuck Oliver to Mark Richt, ‘My Bad, Dawg…’

Remember this heated exchange:

;

Well, the reporter who lobbed that ill-fated question—Atlanta radio personality Chuck Oliver—came forth yesterday and issued a mea culpa, of sorts, saying he shouldn’t have asked that particular question, at that particular time.

680 the Fan, which is the official sports talk station of the Georgia Bulldogs, declined a request from FOX 5 to speak with Oliver. On his show Monday afternoon, Oliver admitted to making a mistake.

“It was just horrible timing on my part. Awful, terrible, horrible, wretched, horrid judgment of timing,” Oliver said.

Some UGA fans said they liked the spark they saw from Richt.

“I think he handled it well, and unfortunately, while it was a fair question, I don’t think the timing was all that great,” said Enrique Escolano. 

Oliver said on his radio show that his question meant no criticism of Richt or Murray. He said, personally, he thought they did a good job in the game. He also said he spoke to Richt on Monday and the coach told him all was forgiven and forgotten.

As an admitted Bulldog fan, it was nice to see ‘680 the Fan’ step up and attempt to make amends for what was perceived by many as a classless question by a guy who has proven to be one of Georgia and Mark Richt’s harsher critics over the years.

That said, given the way a large segment of the Bulldog Nation feel about Chuck Oliver (most can’t stand the guy), I doubt they’ll view his apology as anything more than a journalist attempting to save his backside.

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Georgia Football: Alabama’s Quinton Dial Could Be Suspended for Illegal Hit on Aaron Murray

Remember the nasty, vicious, completely uncalled for hit executed by Quinton Dial on Aaron Murray this past weekend, well the SEC is finally taking a longer look at it to see if a possible suspension is in order for the JUCO defensive lineman.

In my opinion, it should have been called as a penalty during the game—no clue how it wasn’t.

Here’s another look:

The hit was replayed during the live broadcast of the game, but apparently missed by more than one referee on Saturday—a miss that Steve Shaw (the SEC Coordinator of Officials) says should not have taken place.

“We missed the call,” Shaw said.

NCAA rules mandate that conference offices review any flagrant personal foul or targeting for possible future punishment, whether a penalty was called on the field or not.

“By rule, you can’t hit a defenseless player above the shoulders,” Shaw said. “What the determination needs to be is was this a defenseless player and was contact initiated above the shoulders? When we go through video review of it, that’s what we’ll have to determine. And then you as you break it down, did he lead with the head or lead with the shoulder? From game action, it was a personal foul regardless of how we break it down frame by frame.”

 

Enhanced by Zemanta